Kevin & Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews

This website is no longer maintained. Please enjoy the music CD reviews.
brightly-colored cartoon picture of a guitar, banjo, violin, mandolin

Monterey Bay Area Music Links

This web page contains information about celtic, UK folk and folk music radio shows, promoters, venues, resources, singers-songwriters and record companies located in the Monterey Bay Area (on the central coast of California).

Public Radio Shows

This is a list of celtic, UK folk and folk music public radio programs in the Monterey Bay area. This is not an exhaustive list. "Kevin& Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews" does not guarantee the accuracy of the information contained in this radio station schedule. Please contact the radio program for up-to-date schedule information. Please inform me of any corrections.

KZSC 88.1 FM
Santa Cruz, California
(831)459-4036
Program Schedule
Bushwackers Breakfast Club
6-9am, Friday
Amusing folk, bluegrass and country songs, opinion and humor. Hosted by Sleepy John Sandidge, Dangerous Dan Orange, Jeff Emery and other co-hosts.
Heaven’s Bar & Grill
9am-12pm, Friday
New folk music with an emphasis on lesser known artists. Occasional guests. Hosted by Clytia Fuller.
Folk Journey
3-6am, Sunday
Traditional world folk music. Hosted by Conchord.
The Emerald Isle
6-9am, Sunday
Traditional celtic music. Hosted by Z.
Folk Backroads
12-2pm, Sunday
Singer-songwriter folk music featuring new and lesser known artists. Local events are announced on this show. Hosted by Jeff Emery.
KUSP 88.9 FM
Santa Cruz, California
(831)655-5877
Program Schedule
The Open Road
11am-1pm, Monday through Friday
Music Mix, including folk and celtic. Often includes live sessions and musican interviews. Hosted by Robin Roberts and J.T. Mason.
Continental Drift
12-2pm, Saturday
Eclectic celtic music with a very knowledgeable programmer. Hosted by Cindy Odom.
Pataphysical Farm
2-4pm, Saturday
Traditional, root-based folk with some contemporary folk music. Hosted by Chris Jong and Leigh Hill.
KPIG 107.5 FM
Freedom, California
(831)722-2299
Program Schedule
Please Stand By
10am-12pm, Sunday
Celtic and folk music, and live performances. Hosted by John Sandidge.
KKUP 91.5 FM
Cupertino, California
(408)260-2999
Program Schedule
Don’t Panic
(It’s Just Us Folks)
10am-1pm, Tuesday
A variety of new singer/songwriter and traditional folk material. Also live music from local and touring musicians. Hosted by Lisa Atkinson.
New Wood
7-10am, Thursday
American folk, celtic, and bluegrass music. Hosted by Peter Schwarz.
Moonlight Trail
7-10pm, Thursday
Country, bluegrass, folk, and live music. Hosted by Radio Rail’s Jackie Loken.
Friday Folk Off
3-6pm, Friday
Celtic and new-folk music. Also live music from local and touring musicians. Local folk events are announced on this show. Hosted by David Stafford.
KAZU 90.3 FM
Pacific Grove, California
(831)375-7275 or (800)903-6624
Program Schedule
Prairie Home Companion
6-8pm, Saturday;
10am-12pm, Sunday
A variety show with smart comedy and engaging music.

top of pagetop

Promoters

This is a list of celtic, UK folk and folk music promoters in the Monterey Bay area (on the central coast of California). This is not an exhaustive list of radio programs. "Kevin & Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews" does not guarantee the accuracy of the information contained in this list. Please contact the promoters for additional information. Please inform me of any corrections.

Promoter Contact Information
The Artvark Cafe House Concert Series http://www.artvarkcafe.com/
Backroads House Concerts (831) 335-1310
Danish American House Concerts http://www.DanishAmericanHouseConcerts.com
Fiddling Cricket Concerts http://www.fiddlingcricket.com/
HeadRush Concerts headrushes@sbcglobal.net or (831) 333-1493
Lea Lawson Productions (831) 426-7828
Mary McCaslin http://www.marymccaslin.com
Pulse Productions http://www.pulseproductions.net
Snazzy Americana Productions http://www.snazzyamericanamusic.com
Treehouse Concerts http://www.treehouseconcerts.org
TrueWind Music http://www.truewindmusic.com

top of pagetop

Resources

This is a list of celtic, UK folk and folk music resources in the Monterey Bay area (on the central coast of California). This is not an exhaustive list of radio programs. "Kevin& Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews" does not guarantee the accuracy of the information contained in this list. Please contact the resource for additional information. Please inform me of any corrections.

Resource Website
The Artvark Cafe House Concert Series http://www.artvarkcafe.com/
Peninsula Acoustic Music Scene mailing group http://groups.yahoo.com/group/peninsulamusic
The Celtic Society of the Monterey Bay http://www.celticsociety.org
South Bay Folk Music Resources http://www.dave9.com/sbf/sbf.html

top of pagetop

Singers-Songwriters

This is a list of celtic, UK folk and folk music singers and songwriters residing in the Monterey Bay area (on the central coast of California). This may not be an exhaustive list. "Kevin & Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews" does not guarantee the accuracy of the information contained in this list. Please contact the singers/songwriters for additional information. Please inform me of any corrections.

Singer - Songwriter Website
Sherry Austin http://www.sherry-austin.com
Mark J. Bradlyn http://www.folkweb.com/markbradlyn
William Coulter http://www.williamcoulter.com
Jayme Kelly Curtis http://www.purrgirl.com
Alisa Fineman http://www.alisafineman.com
Aprylle Gilbert http://www.apryllegilbert.com
Arthur Godfrey http://arthurgodfreyonline.com/
Keith Greeninger http://www.keithgreeninger.com
Greg Hyde & Living Room http://www.cdbaby.com/greghyde
Isle of Light http://www.isle-of-light.com
Ben Laney http://www.laneytunes.com
Chuck McCabe http://home1.gte.net/woodshed/
Mary McCaslin http://www.marymccaslin.com
Mary McLaughlin http://www.marymclaughlin.com
Steve Palazzo http://www.cbaontheweb.org/teacher_viewdtl.asp?teacherid=43
Molly’s Revenge http://www.mollys-revenge.com
Amy Obenski http://amy.obenski.net
Barry Phillips/Shelley Phillips http://www.gourd.com
Woody Phillips http://www.gourd.com
Bob Reid http://www.bobreidmusic.com
Sibling Brothers http://www.siblingbrothers.com
Aileen Vance http://members.cruzio.com/~avandlt/
Joe Weed http://www.highlandpublishing.com/

top of pagetop

Record Companies

This is a list of celtic, UK folk and folk music record companies based in the Monterey Bay area (on the central coast of California). This may not be an exhaustive list. "Kevin & Maxine’s Celtic & Folk Music CD Reviews" does not guarantee the accuracy of the information contained in this list. Please contact the record company for additional information. Please inform me of any corrections.

Record Company Website
Gourd Music http://www.gourd.com

top of pagetop